Databases

 

 

A to Z the USA

This is our A to Z information database for all things USA!  Log in here to learn about our states and territories.

Log into this database with your 14 digit barcode number from your library card.

 

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search™ Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Academic Search Premier contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

American’s News:

With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Newsbank database from home.

 

Ancestry.com

Ancestry® Library Edition, distributed exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the UK, Europe, Australia, and more.

 

Auto Repair Reference Center

The Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC) database contains the most comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference information in the market. ARRC contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.  The database covers more than 37,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes millions of drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 110,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 180,000 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ, Quick Tips (a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance), Diagnostic information and much more. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are continually added to the product. All of the content in Auto Repair Reference Centerhas been created by ASE certified technicians.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

BIR Entertainment

BIR Entertainment provides information on about 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles, with more being added regularly. Provides searching by artist, performer, or specific genre.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Book Collection: Nonfiction

The Book Collection: Nonfiction™ series is a cross-curricular suite of databases providing a wide spectrum of non-fiction full-text content from renowned publishers. Three distinct versions of the collection allow libraries to choose age-specific databases to appropriately cater to user needs.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Book Index with Reviews

BIR includes over 5 million book titles complete with reviews.  This is the perfect tool for learning about new books you might like and creating book lists.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Business Searching Interface

The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides business researchers with the highly refined tools they need, in order to conduct sophisticated searches for the business content that they require. Through the use of the BSI, the full text business content of Business Source® Premier and Business Source® Complete can be located and retrieved more quickly and with greater precision than ever before.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Business Source Premier

Designed for business libraries, this is the industry’s most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Business Source®Premier provides indexing, abstracts and full text back to 1965. Business Source Premier provides comprehensive coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete™ provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMCincorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Computer Source

Featuring nearly 300 full-text periodicals covering topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet, Computer Source™ provides a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

ConsumerReports.org

ConsumerReports.org® — the largest paid-publication subscription-based website in the world — enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. Whether a user is looking to find the best deal on an LCD TV, or researching the top-recommended used vehicles, ConsumerReports.orgprovides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.

In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to peruse the latest consumer news

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

eBooks – Through Ebsco

EBSCO offers more than 60 electronic book collections from some of the world’s most renowned publishing houses, including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley InterScience®.

Please see the user guide here to learn how to check out and download eBooks.
http://support.ebscohost.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5361

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Ebsco Databases

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

EBSCOhost Espanol

Provee texto completo para más de 1,170 publicaciones periodicas que cubren casi todos los asuntos incluyendo referncia general, negocios, salud y mucho más.

Utilice su identificación del código de barras de 14 dígitos para registrar en las bases de datos de Ebsco del hogar.

 

Encyclopedia Britannica

Don’t you just love an encyclopedia?  We do!

Search here if you’re in the library.

Search here if you’re at home, using your 14 digit library barcode number to login.

 

ERIC

ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Fuente Académica
Fuente Académica™ is a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. It is an indispensable tool of exceptional scope designed to make academic research readily accessible in PDF format.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Updated annually. Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases.

 

Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior is a great tool for learning more about the world, either for travel or for research!  In this great database, you’ll learn all sorts of interesting facts about countries, from the culture to the geography.

Use your library card number to log in!

 

Health Resources

This resource provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men’s Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others.

This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books, including books published by the People’s Medical Society.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Health Source – Consumer Edition

Health Source®: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men’s Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others.  This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books, including books published by the People’s Medical Society.

Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 9,900 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names; and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk DictionaryHealth Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children’s health, women’s health, etc.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases.

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.

In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases.

 

Idaho Career Information Services

CIS is a division of the Idaho Department of Labor and since 1980 has been helping people in Idaho with the volumes of information about occupations, post-secondary education, financial aid, and finding jobs.  The goal at CIS is to help people make informed career decisions.  We pride ourselves on creating the only comprehensive source of career information available anywhere that focuses on both Idaho and the nation.  CIS employees gather information and data from hundreds of sources and format it in one place so you can:

  • Explore career opportunities;
  • Find programs, the schools that offer them, and scholarships;
  • Make successful career decisions and educational plans;
  • Find work that fits your career goals.

CIS promotes lifelong learning and includes assessment, career and college planning, and financial aid resources.
Idaho State Journal:

From weekly to 7-day production, the Idaho State Journal newspaper’s history has been as varied as the communities it serves. Today’s Idaho State Journal came into being on Oct. 1, 1949, resulting from the merger of the Tribune and the Post, which had started operations in 1947. Online acces is from 2006 – current.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the database from home.

 

Kids Search
EBSCO has created a search interface designed specifically for primary/secondary school students, according to their needs and search abilities. The Kids Searchinterface combines a state-of-the-art search engine (powered by EBSCOhost®) with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that is both powerful and fun to use.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Mango Languages

Mango Languages offers lessons for several languages in easy to learn formats!  Learn Spanish, French, Italian, and more!

Mango Languages also partnered with Little Pim to create an online language learning system specifically for kids ages 0-6. Each course is designed to provide the basic building blocks of a second or third language while enhancing development and social skills.

 

MAS Ultra–Public Library Edition
Provides full text articles from periodicals covering general reference topics including health and medicine, science and technology, business and management, economics and international relations, home and garden, music and entertainment and many more subjects. Includes also full text extracts of important pamphlets.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

MasterFile Premier
Master File Premier MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,950 general reference, business, consumer, health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. It also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books, 84,500 biographies, 100,500 primary source documents, and an image collection of 202,000 photos, maps, and flags.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases.

 

MedicLatina
MedicLatina™ es una colección única de investigación médica y de diarios investigadores de editores latinoamericanos y españoles renombrados. Esta base de datos de la lengua española contiene el contenido completo y el texto completo del pdf para 130 peer-reviewed los diarios médicos en español nativo.

Utilice su identificación del código de barras de 14 dígitos para registrar en las bases de datos de Ebsco del hogar.

 

MEDLINE
MEDLINE® provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.

Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents includingEssential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall’s New World EncyclopediaAmerican Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin; Encyclopedia of Animals™

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases.

 

Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites.

Military & Government Collection™ provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals.

Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Additionally, many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases.

 

NoveList
NoveList, a readers’ advisory service, not only provides access to information on 155,000 fiction titles, but it also offers a wide range of feature content that will expand your ability to find interesting fiction.  This database includes author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Novelist K-8
NoveList K-8 contains enhanced subject access for over 60,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population. Full-text reviews from sources like School Library Journal and Booklist are available for many titles.

NoveList K-8, a fiction database, is designed with a bright, appealing layout, designed especially for elementary and middle schools. The “Working with Kids” section of the Browse panel on the homepage provides a single location to access all of the curricular materials such as our Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Picture Book Extenders and more.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Primary Search
Primary Search® contains full text for more than 80 popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage® Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Professional Development Collection
This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full-text education journals in the world.

Professional Development Collection™ includes full text for nearly 520 high quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Religion and Philosophy Collection
Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Searching Just for Kids
Research made fun and easy for kids!

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

Student Resource Center
EBSCO has created a search interface designed specifically for secondary education students, according to their needs and search abilities. The Student Research Center provides students in secondary education with the most appropriate research tools for easily obtaining the information that they seek from their EBSCO databases

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

TOPICsearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

TOPICsearch™ contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

Use your 14 digit barcode ID to log into the Ebsco databases from home.

 

TumbleBooks
The TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration but no animation), Ebooks and Audio Books which may be viewed online or downloaded for 90 days, and Tumble Puzzles & Games.

 

Zinio – Online Magazines

The Portneuf District Library is pleased to announce the addition of
Zinio for Libraries.  Zinio offers online magazines you check out,
download, and read on your laptop, computer, smartphone, or tablet.
Download magazines for reading on the go!  Once you download a
magazine to your smartphone or tablet, you won’t need internet access
to read them.  The Portneuf Library currently subscribes to titles
like Taste of Home, All Recipes, Newsweek, Seventeen, OK!, Redbook,
Shape, and Marie Claire.